Wednesday, 27 April 2011

PADJ partners up with APJC

PADJ has forged a partnership with the Asia Pacific Journalism Centre based in Melbourne, Australia to assist the training of journalists to report on development issues. The first training will be on climate change and the environment.
Interested participants can email PADJ at

PADJ in UN REDD consultation

PADJ was invited to take part in consultations by the UN on UN REDD.

About the UN-REDD Programme

UN-REDD Programme countries map
The UN-REDD Programme is the United Nations Collaborative initiative on Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and forest Degradation (REDD) in developing countries. The Programme was launched in September 2008 to assist developing countries prepare and implement national REDD+ strategies, and builds on the convening power and expertise of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).
Support to Countries
The Programme currently has 29 partner countries spanning Africa, Asia-Pacific and Latin America, of which 13 are receiving support to National Programme activities. These 13 countries are: Bolivia, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Ecuador, Indonesia, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, the Philippines, Solomon Islands, Tanzania, Viet Nam and Zambia. To-date, the UN-REDD Programme’s Policy Board has approved a total of US$55.4 million for its nine initial pilot countries and four new countries (Cambodia, Ecuador, the Philippines and Solomon Islands). These funds help to support the development and implementation of national REDD+ strategies. National Programmes in seven UN-REDD Programme countries are now in their implementation phase (Bolivia, DRC, Indonesia, Panama, Tanzania, Viet Nam and Zambia).
UN-REDD Programme countries not receiving direct support to national programmes engage with the Programme in a number of ways, including as observers to the Programme's Policy Board, and through participation in regional workshops and knowledge sharing, facilitated by the Programme’s interactive online workspace. These countries are: Argentina, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Central African Republic, Colombia, Costa Rica, Gabon, Guatemala, Guyana, Kenya, Mexico, Nepal, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Sri Lanka and Sudan. 

PADJ takes part in UN Gender consultation

PADJ participated in the Pacific consultation on the role of the media in gender issues in the Pacific. According to UNWomen, in Asia and the Pacific region, UN Women’s work focuses on achieving gender equality in democratic governance and on reducing feminized poverty and exclusion through the realization of women's human rights and human security. Particular emphasis lies on migrant women workers in the whole region, women's political participation in the Pacific, and human trafficking as well as HIV and AIDS in South East Asia and the Pacific.

PADJ member wins MDG story award

Selina Navuso, a Member of the Pacific Alliance of Development Journalists  won a United Naitons development journalist prize last week for a development story on Fiji. The MDG Story awards were judged by the heads of the United Nations Pacific Centre as well as the Secretariat of the Pacific Community.
PADJ Founding Member Cherelle Jackson also won an award for MDG story in the print category.

Pacific Alliance of Development Journalists

The Pacific Alliance of Development Journalists (PADJ) was established in August 2010 in Nabua
United Nations journalism meeting on the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). The founding members of the network are Pacific island journalists committed to reporting on the real issues faced by their small island nations.
The purpose of the network is to encourage Pacific journalists to write about development issues in their
respective countries.

Founding Members of PADJ.